Notable Division III Players and Coaches

Division III tournament players

(Twice chosen to Championship All-Tournament Team)

Brandon Adair, Virginia Wesleyan

√ 2006 and 2007 All-Championship team selection

Nick Bennett, Wisconsin-Stevens Point

- ✓ 2004 Championship Most Outstanding Player
- √ 2005 All-Championship team selection

Michael Crotty, Williams

√ 2003 and 2004 All-Championship team selection

Chris Fite, Rochester (NY)

- √ 1990 Championship Most Outstand Player
- √ 1992 All-Championship team selection

Michael Harper, North Park

✓ 1978 and 1979 Championship Most Outstanding Player – only multiple MOP in history

Joel Holstege, Hope

√ 1996 and 1998 All-Championship team selection

Steve Honderd, Calvin

- √ 1992 Championship Most Outstanding Player
- √ 1990 All-Championship team selection

Dana Janssen, Nebraska Wesleyan

√ 1985 and 1986 All-Championship team selection

Horace Jenkins, William Patterson

√ 1999 and 2001 All-Championship team selection

Jason Kalsow, Wisconsin-Stevens Point

- √ 2005 Championship Most Outstanding Player
- ✓ 2004 All-Championship team selection

Mark Linde, Wisconsin-Whitewater

√ 1983 and 1984 All-Championship team selection

Michael Nogelo, Williams

√ 1997 and 1998 All-Championship team selection

Derrick Rowland, SUNY Postdam

√ 1979 and 1981 All-Championship team selection

Michael Thomas, North Park

- √ 1980 Championship Most Outstanding Player
- √ 1979 All-Championship team selection

Division III alumni who coaches or coached in the NBA

Mike Brown, UC San Diego

✓ Los Angeles Lakers

Jeff Van Gundy, Nazareth (Menlo)

✓ New York Knicks

Tom Thibodeau, Salem State

✓ Chicago Bulls

Former or current Division III tournament coaches

(Two or more Division III Championships)

Jack Bennett, Wisconsin-Stevens Point

✓ Won 2004 and 2005 Championships

Bob Bessoir, Scranton

✓ Won 1976 and 1983 Championships

Mark Edwards, Washington (Mo.)

✓ Won 2008 and 2009 Championships

Dan McCarrell, North Park

✓ Won 1978, 1979 and 1980 Championships – record for most consecutive Division III titles

Bo Ryan, Wisconsin-Platteville

- √ Won 1991 (31-0), 1995, 1998 (30-0) and 1999 Championships record for most Division III titles
- ✓ Undefeated in 1995 and 1998
- ✓ Current head coach at Wisconsin

Dave Vander Meulen, Wisconsin-Whitewater

✓ Won 1984 and 1989 Championships

Jerry Welsh, SUNY Potsdam

- ✓ Won 1981 and 1986 Championships
- ✓ Undefeated in 1986 (32-0) first undefeated Champion

Current and former Division III coaches

Notable

Dennis Bridges, Illinois Wesleyan - retired

- ✓ Third winningest all-time Division III coach by career wins 666 in 36 years
- ✓ Won 1997 Championship

Steve Moore, Wooster

- ✓ Winningest all-time Division III coach by career percentage 77.2 in 30 years
- ✓ Second winningest active Division III coach by career percentage 77.2 in 30 years
- ✓ Third winningest active Division III coach by career wins 656

Glen Robinson, Franklin and Marshall

- ✓ Winningest all-time Division III coach by career wins 805 in 40 years
- ✓ Winningest active Division III coach by career wins 805 in 40 years

Jim Smith, Saint John's (MN)

- ✓ Second winningest all-time Division III coach by career wins 727 in 47 years
- ✓ Second winningest active Division III coach by career wins 727 in 47 years

Glenn Van Wieren, Hope - retired after 2010 season

- ✓ Fourth winningest all-time Division III coach by career wins 660 in 33 years
- √ Fifth winningest active Division III coach by career percentage 75.1 in 33 years

Former Division III tournament coach - now Division I head coach

Bo Ryan

- ✓ Won 1991, 1995, 1998 and 1999 NCAA Division III Championship at Wisconsin-Platteville record for most
 Division III titles
- ✓ Undefeated in 1995 and 1998
- ✓ Head coach at Wisconsin

Former Division III tournament player - now Division II head coach

Greg Kamansky, UC San Diego

- √ 1986, 1987 NABC Division III All-American
- ✓ Won 2010 NCAA Division II Championship at Cal Poly Pomona

Division III alumni – now Division I head coaches (34)

Herb Sendek, Carnegie Mellon Arizona State

Zach Spiker, Ithaca Army

Steve Donahue, Ursinus Boston College
Joe Jones, Oswego State Boston University

David Paulsen, Williams Bucknell Brad Stevens, DePauw Butler

Ernie Zeigler, Cleary Central Michigan

Brad Brownell, DePauw Clemson
Tim Miles, Mary Colorado State
Jim Ferry, Keene State Duquesne
Paul Hewitt, St. John Fisher George Mason

Mo Cassara, St. Lawrence Hofstra
Kevin Nickelberry, Virginia Wesleyan Howard
Joe O'Brien, Monmouth (IL) Idaho State
Rob Senderoff, Albany (NY) Kent State
Rob Jeter, Wisconsin-Platteville Milwaukee
Billy Lange, Rowan Navy

Mark Slessinge, Aurora New Orleans Anthony Evans, St. Thomas Aquinas Norfolk State

Dr. John Giannini, North Central College LaSalle

Saul Phillips, Wisconsin-Platteville

Bill Coen, Hamilton

Bill Carmody, Union (NY)

Northwestern

Northwestern

Tommy Dempsey, Susquehanna Rider

Don Friday, Lebanon Valley Saint Francis (PA)
John Dunne, Ithaca Saint Peters

Shaka Smart, Kenyon Virginia Commonwealth

Randy Rahe, Buena Vista

Jim Molinari, Illinois Wesleyan

Gregg Marshall, Randolph Macon

Randy Peele, Virginia Wesleyan

Bo Ryan, Wilkes

Larry Shyatt, Wooster

James Jones, Albany (NY)

Weber State

Western Illinois

Wichita State

Winthrop

Wisconsin

Wyoming

Yale

Jerry Slocum, King's (NY) Youngstown State